Monday, August 15, 2022


N L Sharma, CMD, SJVN receives first prize in Swachhta Pakhwada Awards-2022

June 30, 2022 04:45 PM

Shimla: Nand Lal Sharma, Chairman & Managing Director, SJVN today received First Prize in Swachhta Pakhwada Award 2022. Sh. Alok Kumar, Secretary (Power), Government of India, presented the awards to the winning PSUs in a ceremony held in New Delhi. SJVN has bagged first position while second and third positions have been bagged by NTPC & Powergrid respectively. On this occasion, Smt. Geeta Kapur Director (Personnel), SJVN was also present.

Nand Lal Sharma informed that Swachhta Pakhwada Awards are conferred by Ministry of Power, GoI in recognition of the outstanding contribution of the Public Sector Undertakings to Swachh Bharat Abhiyan. The PSUs under MoP are evaluated on various parameters for the activities carried out during Swachhta Pakhwada celebrated from 16-31st May every year. SJVN has been awarded with Swachh Survekshan Awards- First & Second Prize in the years 2018 and 2019 respectively for implementing various initiatives during Swachhta Pakhwada.

This year, SJVN had formulated a comprehensive Swachhta Pakhwada Action Plan to undertake various activities in all its project locations & offices across India. This included public awareness campaigns through motivational speeches, nukkad nataks & competitions, special drive to encourage use of eco-friendly material, plantation drives, installation of dustbins in public places, distribution of sanitization & personal hygiene materials in local communities etc.

Further contributing towards public awareness, cleanliness drives & awareness programs for promoting segregation of waste, vermi-composting, reuse of waste water for agriculture etc. were organized. Long term impact programs such as construction of multipurpose Check Dam at Nahan, Bio-diversity park in Shimla and cleaning up of rivers situated near projects area, have also been initiated by SJVN.


Have something to say? Post your comment